Last update:
August 26, 2023, 11:02
Home > Starships > Fixing the Wrongs

Fixing the Wrongs

Several canon ship names in Star Trek are questionable. This is either because they were named for historical figures of bad reputation, or because of in-jokes using the names of the people making the series or even of characters from other TV shows. Here is an attempt to make up more prudent namesakes.

USS Clavyn - Named for Andros Clavyn, President of the United States who governed the country during WW3.

USS Cortéz - Named for Cuban warp pioneer Josef Cortez who made the second warp flight jump in his vessel, the Norkova.

USS Curry NCC-42254 - Named for 21st century engineer Anne Curry who was one of the leading designers of the Ares series Martian explorers.

USS Elkins NCC-74121 - Named for Maryanne Elkins, first woman president of the United States.

USS Frederickson NCC-42111 - Named for Kyle Fredrickson, 21st century civil rights leader who fought for gay rights.

USS Gallico - Named for Axanar captian Gian ir Gallico who led the Federation fleet at the battle of Can'tu against the Klingons in 2215.

USS Malone - Named for Micheal Malone, allied general during the Eugenics Wars.

USS Nash NCC-2010-5 - Named for Joshua Nash, 21st century ISA Astronaut.

SS Norkova - Named for Josef Cortez' warp ship.

USS Peterson - Named for Edward Peterson, 21st century Marine Biologist who among other things was the first person to capture a live giant squid on video.

USS Sitak - Named for the Vulcan admiral who led the allied fleet at the battle of Cheron during the Romulan wars.

USS Strata - Named for the ISA space station that also played a part in the final battle of WW3.

USS T'Kumbra - Named for the Vulcan matriarch who was Surak's successor.

USS T'Vran - Named for the First Vulcan captain in starfleet.

USS Wambundu - Named for Jean Baptiste Wambundu, first president of the African Union.

USS Yamaguchi NCC-26510 - Named for the 22nd century Japanese astronomer Yoshi Yamaguchi who was primarily responsible for the Quadros space probe program.

USS Zhukov NCC-26136 - Named for the founder of UESPA and scientist who pioneered the new Soyuz program under its banner, Alexi Zhukov.

(Theory by Razor)

Powered by CMSimple